

# CAERPHILLY STANDING ADVISORY COUNCIL ON RELIGIOUS EDUCATION – 6TH JUNE 2007

SUBJECT: EXECUTIVE VOTING FOR THE PERIOD 2007-2010

#### 1. PURPOSE OF REPORT

- 1.1 In a letter received on 30th March 2007, WASCRE gave details of nominees for election to Executive for consideration by SACRE. Two positions are available.
- 1.2 The vote will take place at the WASACRE's AGM on 28th June 2007.

#### 2. SUMMARY

- 2.1 The members of Executive who have completed their period of office (a three year tenure) are, Councillor M Gray, Mrs M Parry and Councillor M Jones.
- 2.2 Other Executive members are as follows:
  - Ms Vicky Thomas of Torfaen
  - Mr Rheinallt Thomas of Ynys Môn
  - Reverend Edward J Evans of Bridgend
  - Reverend Eldon Phillips of Swansea

### 3. NOMINATIONS TO DATE

- 3.1 Nominees are as follows:
  - Reverend Patrick Coleman of Blaenau Gwent
  - Councillor Michael Gray of Caerphillly
  - Mrs Mary Parry of Carmarthenshire
  - Councillor Morfudd Jones of Denbighshire
  - Reverend Tegid Roberts of Gwynedd
  - Mrs Tania Ap Sion of Wrexham

## 4. **RECOMMENDATIONS**

4.1 Caerphilly SACRE have been asked decide which two candidates will receive their vote and inform our delegate to the meeting, of the decision.

Author: Rebecca Thomas (Committees Service Officer)

Appendices:

Appendix 1 Nominee biographies